Miss Representation
[A documentary]

“The most common way people give up their power is by thinking they don’t have any”

An incredibly interesting trailer for a doc that I can’t wait to get my hands on. I think it’s important that this is an issue that people don’t stop talking about. We don’t live during the time of women’s suffrage or the women’s movement of the 60’s-70’s, and I think sometimes people assume those kinds of problems are over! But they really aren’t. So it’s really important to keep talking about these things and keep them in the spotlight. The trailer alone is so insightful.

Also! A couple of the women featured in the trailer have other great specials/movies about women’s issues that I would highly recommend checking out:

  • Jean Kilbourne’s Killing Us Softly [There are actually something like 4 different parts to this; I’m sure you could find them all on YouTube]
  • Gloria: In Her Own words [An HBO doc about feminist icon Gloria Steinem]

 

-Dayln Grossklaus-